Lake Arthur Yacht Club

Lake Arthur, LA,
Regatta Date: 
Friday, November 22, 2013

The 30th anniversary of the FSSA CCC was at Lake Arthur, LA, on Saturday 23 November 2013.

Unfortunately only 4 boats registered for the event sailed in drizzle and strong winds with gusts to 30 knots. The lack of attendance can be attributed to unfavorable weather forecast. The conditions kept one boat from starting any race. The lead boat capsized in the 2nd race but recovered fast enough to finish 2nd in that race. That boat skippered by David Bolyard won the regatta.

David with crew Collin Ross had a remarkably quick recovery after a knock down in the 2nd race. They got a 2nd in that race and 1st in the other 2 races to win the championship regatta. David won last year and takes the big silver trophy back to his home club, Pontchartrain YC in Mandeville, LA.

Lightning ace Larry Frost crewed with Morgan Narby for Al Rees and they won the 2nd race and were 2nd overall in the regatta. Al learned a lot from Larry. Father and son team Narby had decent starts and was competitive.

The courses were windward-leeward. Outstanding race management was provided by Principal Race Officer Wallace Paletou of Southern YC ably assisted by Jim O’Neal of Lake Arthur YC. The committee signal boat driver was Tom Hayes and Butch Nolan drove the mark-set boat and was assisted by Charlie Williams. The competing athletes thank them all for excellent race management.

The awards presentation followed a delightful meal. It was rice covered with white beans smothered to perfection with Cajun sausage prepared by LAYC Commodores Sammy Trahan and Tim Hebert. Délicieux!

Fleet 153 held its annual meeting after the awards ceremony and elected for 2014 Doug Narby Captain and Al Rees Secretary. The fleet decided to ask Lake Charles YC, home of FSSA Fleet 84, to host the 2014 FSSA CCC. Two other sailing clubs in Acadiana have in the past 30 years hosted the Cajun Country Championship: Cypremort YC on Vermilion Bay and Pelican YC on False River.

Regatta results are shown below: