2014 NAC at Tom's River YC - Final Day 7/25/2014


2014 AC Day 5

What a glorious 5 days on Barnegat Bay.  Every day was great weather and there was racing for every brand of sailor – 6-8, 8-10, 10-12, and 18 and above.  Today was a beautiful sunny day with the winds coming from the northeast to east 8-10 knots.  There were no false starts and the races were on time with the Challengers starting several minutes after the Championship Division and no one was OCS.  We had a 6-leg Windward-Leeward course and Mark Taylor beat out all the others to win today’s race in the Championship Division, while FSSA President Frank Gerry pulled a horizon job on the Challenger fleet.

At the end of the regatta, Jeff Linton and Amy Smith Linton were 1st with a 14-point spread over the second place boat in the Championship Division.  In 2nd were Rob Whittemore and John Wake and 1 point behind them in 3rd were John Kreidler and Joe Brake.  In the Challenger Division was Greg and Diane Kampf in 1st place with a 3-point lead over Frank and Marianne Gerry in 2nd, and they won the tie-breaker over 3rd place Joe Thorpe and Tyler Yetman.   Final results are here.

Many thanks to Toms River Yacht Club, especially co-chairs Glenn Shaffer and Joe Thorpe, for putting on a spectacular event with great Race Management, great shore side hospitality and great friends to share it with.  Next year’s NAC, Bay Waveland, Mississippi – hope to see you there!