2012 New England Districts - Massapoag Yacht Club, Sharon, MA

Massapoag Yacht Club and Quannapowitt Yacht Club co-hosted the 2012 New England Districts at Massapoag in Sharon, MA on 8/18/2012. Although Mother Nature was not cooperative and brought us rain and very little wind, we had 14 boats from 6 clubs, MYC, Rockport, MA, Duxbury, MA, Stone Horse in Harwichport, MA, Cedar Point in Westport, CT, and Old Greenwich Yacht Club, CT, who braved the conditions and sailed with us. A trailer mishap caused one of our sailors, Gary Powell, to take his boat back home and borrow a boat from MYC. And Dave Osler lost a U-bolt and broke his axle, but still came along with his son and 4 grandchildren. That's one of the things I love about the Flying Scot Class - just so many good sports The Race Committee chaired by MYC's Bob Gaffney and QYC's Steve Breton did a great job of getting in 2 races before the heavier rains came and the wind died for the day. With the North wind blowing from 4-8, we managed 2 4-leg windward leewards before lunch and that was all we were going to get for the day. We ate lunch, then waited around for as long as we could, and we called it a day and lit up the grills. The winners were (1) Roger and Laura Sharp, (2) Randy and Scott Rubinstein, (3) Greg and Diane Kampf, (4) Jim Cavanagh and John Housle and (5) District Governor Skip Montello and Marianne Montello. Congratulations to the winners and thanks for coming!


Massapoag Yacht Club
66 Lakeview Street
Sharon, MA 02067
United States
42° 5' 35.862" N, 71° 10' 45.4152" W
Regatta Date: 
Saturday, August 18, 2012
Race Results: 
2012New EnglandDistricts
Flying ScotsChampionship Division
Sail Boat NameSkipperCrew 1Race 1Race 2TotalPosition
4373LRoger SharpLaura Sharp2131
5990Randy RubinsteinScott Rubinstein1342
5857KachowGreg KampfDiane Kampf5273
4949Jim CavanaghJohn Housle3474
5999AmalayaSkip MontelloMarianne Montello47115
4625John EckartConnie Eckart76136
5157Brother BillDennis DubucWally Lueders68147
4429Gary PowellMike McCarthy105158
5391John SelldorffJeff Morgan810189
4895ContraptionDavid RyanGary Werden1292110
5122SoireeChuck NicolosiMike Frigard11112211
733BugabooMarvin PozefskyTammy Menhennett9132212
4804TLAPHunter ArchibaldDavid Archibald13122513
5217David OslerJustin Oslerdnsdns3014